Join your favorite Artist's mailing list for special updates
Go to cart (0) items [$0.00]
Back to Shop

Click for larger image

Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence (Official Soundtrack LP)

Ryuichi Sakamoto
Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence (Official Soundtrack LP)


Price as configured: $0.00


Be the first to review this product

* Required Fields


Ryuichi Sakamoto’s legendary score is finally being reissued. Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence, directed by Nagisa Oshima and starring David Bowie as well as Sakamoto, was a landmark release of 1983. The movie follows a rebellious South African soldier in a Japanese prison camp during World War II and the complex, often conflicting feelings of the young Japanese camp captain. It is also notable for being the first film score Sakamoto, earning him the 1983 BAFTA Award for Best Film Music and setting him on a career path in movie music that has spanned four decades and an Oscar win.

Milan Records is pleased to be rereleasing the beloved score to Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence under the “Nicolas Winding Refn Presents” series, which aims at releasing quality soundtracks to cult and important films on vinyl. Ryuichi Sakamoto’s timeless orchestral cues sound as crisp and full as when they were recorded. The soundtrack also includes the song “Forbidden Colours”, an adaptation of Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence’s main theme with vocals by David Sylvian which was an international hit on its original release. The LP version of the album is pressed on black 180 gram vinyl and housed in a tip-on gatefold jacket featuring beautiful new artwork by Laurent Durieux. It is not available in white, as some marketing may have suggested. A download card for a digital version of the album is also included. 


Side A
1. Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence
2. Batavia
3. Germination
4. A Hearty Breakfast
5. Before The War
6. The Seed and The Sower
7. A Brief Encounter
8. Ride, Ride, Ride (Cellier’s Brother’s Song)

Side B
1. The Fight
2. Father Christmas
3. Dismissed
4. Assembly
5. Beyond Reason
6. Sowing The Seed
7. 23rd Psalm
8. Last Regrets
9. Ride, Ride, Ride (Reprise)
10. The Seed
11. Forbidden Colors